April 30, 2016 Race results

April 30, 2016 Race results

The beginning of the Wingless 360 Sprint season has been a bit of a nightmare scenario for Marcus Smith.  After flipping his new ride in the Richard Basden car back in March, the 2015 “Rookie Of The Year” has struggled a bit so far.  However, Smith got things turned around this week by winning his heat race and then holding off Alan Miranda for the much needed Main Event victory.  Miranda settled for another career best second place finish with Jim Perry III grabbing a third place finish.  Rick Panfili was a respectable fourth place finisher ahead of Roy Fisher and 2015 champion Kyle Bakkie.

In the A Modified Main Event, the field of champions had a surprise winner at the checkered flag in Josh Combs.  A pavement Stock Car racer prior to getting his Dirt Modified last year, Combs held the lead with four time champion Troy Foulger chasing him down in the Bill Bowers owned car.  However, Combs kept his cool and scored a well earned victory ahead of Foulger.  Perhaps the best driver in the state right now, Bobby Hogge IV finished third ahead of Kellen Chadwick and Aaron Crowell.  The four drivers chasing Combs have all won championships at Antioch Speedway, and Hogge and Crowell were heat race winners on the night.

After winning his third consecutive Hobby Stock championship and becoming the division’s all time Main Event win leader last year, Kimo Oreta has moved up to a Limited Late Model this season.  However, he still has his fast #03 Hobby Stock, and he had an off night to drive it.  This was bad news for the competition.  Oreta grabbed the lead and held off impressive rookie Guy Ahlwardt for the Main Event victory.  It also made him the fourth different winner this season.  Ahwardt was rebounding from last week’s non finish with a second place finish and heat race win.  Cameron Swank grabbed the final podium finish in third as 2010 champion Chris Sorensen and newcomer Kevin Taylor rounded out the Top 5.

Trevor Clymens rebounded from bad luck in his previous start by finally notching his first B Modified Main Event win of the season.  Clymens becomes the third different winner of the season.  Al Johnson collected his second runner up finish of the year to maintain his point lead.  Veteran Ron Brown grabbed a podium finish in third as heat winner Shane DeVolder and Danny Jones rounded out the Top 5.

In the Hardtop division, Jason Clifford was basking in the glow of his first career win a few weeks ago in Placerville.  He was hoping for two in a row, but there was a problem in the form of 86 year old Larry Damitz.  The track’s Limited Late Model point leader and winner of last year’s Hardtop race grabbed the lead and set sail for another Main Event victory.  Damitz also won his heat race to make it a clean sweep of the 12 car Hardtop event.  Back of the pack starter J. Clifford still impressed with a strong second place finish ahead of Dennis Armstrong.  Dan Williams drove his V6 powered Hardtop to a solid fourth place finish ahead of “The Ice Man” Ken Clifford and the steady John Turner.

Don Martin II