Race results September 24, 2016

Race results September 24, 2016

Billy Aton came through when the pressure was on for a championship clinching 25 lap Winged 360 Main Event victory Saturday night at Antioch Speedway.  Aton won his heat race and then set about winning his third Main Event of the season.  With three time Marysville champion Brent Dothage in the hunt, it wasn’t easy.  Dothage was looking to join a long winner’s list, but Aton drove a great race for the important victory.   Dothage settled for his second runner-up finish in three visits.  Art McCarthy wasn’t far behind in third as Burt Foland Jr. and heat race winner Ryan Timmons completed the Top 5 at the finish.  Marissa Polizzi saw her night end early after she flipped in her heat race.

Troy Foulger won a thrilling battle for the 20 lap A Modified Main Event win.  The four time champion had been winless so far this season, but he finally broke through for the victory in the Bill Bowers owned car.  Foulger had to hold off some serious pressure from 2004 champion Aaron Crowell, but he prevailed at Bob Kempf’s checkered flag.  Scott Busby maintained second in the standings with a solid third place finish ahead of Nick DeCarlo, Josh Combs and point leader Carl Berendsen II.

Jim Perry Jr. pretty much assured himself of his second Wingless Spec Sprint championship following his fourth 20 lap feature win of he season.  On this night, Perry had Roy Fisher pressuring him.  The 70 something year old Fisher won his heat race and was looking for his second win of the season.  However, Fisher was no match for the flying Perry.  Shannon Newton held off point runner-up Marcus Smith for a third place finish, and Peter Carlotto made his first start of the season in fifth.

Al Johnson has had several second place finishes, but he finally scored his first career 20 lap B Modified Main Event victory.  The current point runner-up also kept himself in the championship hunt after also winning his heat race. Two time winner K.C. Keller also won a heat race and gave it a good effort before settling for a strong second place finish.  Kevin Brown enjoyed his best career finish in third.  Past Hobby Stock champion Megan Ponciano drove to a season best fourth place finish ahead of Chuck Golden.

Larry Damitz continued his drive towards his fifth championship in six years with his sixth 20 lap victory.  Damitz also won a heat race in yet another stellar performance for the 87 year old veteran of over 60 years of racing.  Kimo Oreta scored a season best second place finish as he continues to fight for second in the standings.  It remains close after heat race winner Mark Garner came from last to finish third in the Main Event.  Fourth went to Mike Gustafson as Placerville visitor Jay Bryant finished fifth.

Melissa Myers returned to action and won the 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event.  Myers is running a limited schedule as family has kept her busy, but this was her second win of the season.  The two time Hobby Stock champion had a flat right rear tire for the last lap and a half and had rookie Anthony Vigna chasing her, but she sped to the checkered flag.  Vigna crossed the line second after earlier winning a heat race, but he and apparent third place finisher Cameron Swank were both disqualified in post race tech.  This shuffled the finishing order and put 2010 champion Chris Sorensen into the second position.  Chris Long was third ahead of Frank Furtado and Rob Waldrop.

The amazing Melissa Hansen Myers is the full time mother of a toddler Tyler.  She is the co-manager of the Brentwood Auto Parts Napa store, she has a fitness trainer and works out, she has a horse and takes riding lessons, she keeps her house up and cooks the family meals, she works on her stock car to maintain it and when she can work it into her schedule, she races her Camaro.  Tonight she won again!  She raced 3 times in 2016 and won twice.

By Don Martin II