Race results October 22, 2016

Race results October 22, 2016

Troy Foulger wrapped up an impressive double win night with his 20 lap DIRTcar Late Model feature win Saturday night at Antioch Speedway.  Driving the Bowers Racing Late Model, Foulger won his heat race and raced into the early Main Event lead.  Heat winner Rob Norris and Petaluma Modified star Michael Paul Jr. were in the hunt early.  With six laps remaining, however, Norris got into the front wall and rolled in front of the flag stand.  New track champion Richard Papenhausen took up the chase of Foulger, but Foulger stayed smooth and collected the victory.  Jeff Decker finished third ahead of Shawn DeForest and Paul.

The four time A Modified champion Foulger wasn’t done there.  He drove the Bowers Racing Modified to his second 20 lap A Modified win of the season.  The team had work to do following his bout with the wall two weeks ago, but the car was ready for a run at the $1000 prize.  Foulger made all the right moves as he joined track legends Keith Brown Sr. and Bobby Hogge IV in being able to win A Modified and Late Model Main Events on the same night.  Anthony Slaney enjoyed a great night of his own with a season best second place finish ahead of Michelle Paul, Chester Kniss and Bobby Montalvo.  Carl Berendsen II wrapped up his second championship season in three years.

Newcomer Boy Moniz scored a surprise 20 lap Wingless Spec Sprint feature win.  Moniz led all the way in a Main Event that was destined to go without a yellow flag.  An open wheel racing competitor in Hawaii, Moniz drove a great race and pulled away to a comfortable margin of victory.  Shannon Newton won a close battle with new track champion Jim Perry Jr. for second, while Brandon Burd outdueled Roy Fisher for fourth.

2015 champion Fred Ryland scored his fifth 20 lap B Modified Main Event win in thrilling fashion.  Al Johnson raced out to the early lead ahead of Jim Waller and Alan Furuta.  Rookie Mike Mates spun for his second yellow flag on lap seven.  New track champion Trevor Clymens retired from the Top 5 on lap 14.  Johnson continued to lead, but Ryland was on the move and slipped past Ferguson for second.  Ryland made a last turn pass and beat Johnson back to the checkered flag.  Waller finished third ahead of Mike Merritt, Trent Wentworth and heat winner Megan Ponciano.

Kimo Oreta wrapped up a “Rookie Of The Year” and point runnerup season with his first career 20 lap Limited Late Model feature victory.  Oreta charged into the early lead ahead of Lori Brown and Jim Freethy.  After winning his heat race, five time winner Mark Garner had his sights set on second in the standings, but his race ended in a lap seven tangle with track champion Larry Damitz.  Oreta continued to lead the restart.  Two time champion Mike Gustafson managed to get past Brown for second and was in hot pursuit of the leader.  However, nothing was going to stop Oreta from getting the well earned victory.  Gustafson settled for second ahead of Brown, Damitz, Freethy and Shawn McCoy.

Guy Ahlwardt wrapped up his championship and “Rookie Of The Year” winning season with his sixth 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event triumph.  Ahlwardt jumped out to the early lead ahead of fellow heat race winner Chris Sorensen.  He led on a lap six restart following a fire under the hood of the Frank Furtado car and following a red flag on lap 11 for a lost wheel from the Lindsey Buirch car.  Furtado was running fourth at the time of his mishap.  Bob Brown stalled for a yellow flag on lap 13.  The slowdowns didn’t matter to Ahlwardt as he continued to lead each restart with Sorensen in pursuit on his way to another win.  Cameron Swank finished third ahead of Michael Cooper and Jordan Swank.

Rising second generation star Ben Wiesz scored the victory in the 20 lap Dwarf Car Main Event.  The teen leadfoot started his night off strong with a heat race victory.  Earlier this year, Wiesz scored an impressive victory in a Dwarf Car Nationals Event up in Medford, Oregon.  On this occasion, he had to contend with newly crowned Antioch champion Kevin Miraglio and Mike Corsaro, who won the other heat race.  With Miraglio leading the chase, Wiesz stayed smooth and grabbed his first Antioch feature victory.  Miraglio settled for second ahead of point runner up Corsaro, recent Antioch winner Josh Miller and Preston Humphrey.

By Don Martin II