Bobby Hogge IV wins the Jerry Hetrick Memorial

Bobby Hogge IV wins the Jerry Hetrick Memorial

Bobby Hogge IV wins the Jerry Hetrick Memorial

By Don Martin II                                             Photography by Paul Gould

Bobby Hogge IV scored the victory in the 20 lap Jerry Hetrick Memorial “A” Modified race Saturday night at Antioch Speedway.  The win was his 72nd at Antioch Speedway, putting him in a three-way tie with Scott Busby and JD Willis at the top of the All Time win list.

Kellen Chadwick started out strong in the race as he led Hogge and Nick DeCarlo early on through a pair of yellow flags during the first 10 laps.  It was during the final five laps when things got interesting.  The leaders caught slower traffic, and Hogge was running a fast high line.  Hogge put his car up on the outside as he exited Turn 2 of the 18th lap and passed two slower cars while taking the lead from Chadwick.  Once he got in front, Hogge led the final two tours of the three-eighth mile clay oval to collect the big win. Chadwick settled for second, followed by DeCarlo, Jeff Decker and Richard Papenhausen.

Trevor Clymens scored his 20th career All Star Series B Modified Main Event victory.  The current point leader set the pace from the waving of the green flag. Meanwhile, rookie Brent Curran started 10th and steadily worked his way to the front. Curran took second from Kenny Shrader on a lap 16 restart and gave Clymens some pressure during the final laps.  Clymens kept his cool and won ahead of Curran, Shrader, Chuck Golden and Kevin Brown.




Reigning Hobby Stock champion Cameron Swank won his third 20 lap Main Event of the season.  Joey Ridgeway set the early pace.  Ridgeway got out of shape down the backstretch on lap 7, allowing Anthony Wellborn to race into the lead ahead of Michael Cooper.  Cooper made a low pass in Turn 4 to take the lead from Wellborn on lap nine. Swank gained second on a lap 10 restart and made an inside pass on Cooper in Turn 4 a lap later to gain the lead.  The two drivers exchanged the lead in Turn 4 during the next two laps, but Cooper ducked into the pits on lap 13 with a flat tire.  Swank had the lead at that point and held off point leader Chris Sorensen the rest of the way for the victory. Ridgeway settled for third, followed by Wellborn and Bill Garner.

David Michael Rosa won his second straight Dwarf Car Main Event.  Rosa had to start back in tenth as the previous winner.  Mario Marques was the early leader ahead of point leader Mike Corsaro.  Corsaro took the lead on lap seven, but he slowed and retired from the race two laps later.  This put Michael Curry into the lead ahead of Marques. Rosa found his way into the Top 3 by lap 10 and made a pass on Marques for second two laps later.  Rosa passed Curry for the lead on lap 16 and pulled away from there to the victory. Curry settled for second, followed by Tony Carmignani, Chris Mello and Lonnie Tekaat



Billy Aton won the 20 lap Winged 360 Sprint Car Main Event.  The 2016 champion bested a short field with point leader Art McCarthy finishing second ahead of heat race winner Jeffrey Strole and Tim Burcher.