Kenneth Robles Wins Dean Cline Classic At Antioch Speedway

Kenneth Robles #07 won the Dean Cline Classic for the Hobby Stock division. Photo by Katrina Kniss

by Candice Martin

Antioch, CA…June 17…Kenneth Robles of Rio Vista won the 30 lap Pacific Coast General Engineering Hobby Stock Main Event Saturday night at Antioch Speedway. This was the second running of the Dean Cline Classic, which pays tribute to the Hall of Fame racer. Robles was substituting for Jared Baugh.
Point leader Grayson Baca of Brentwood set the early pace ahead of Jewell Crandall of Antioch. A low pass in Turn 4 of the ninth lap put Robles into second, and Crandall took an infield excursion on Lap 12 as Todd Gomez of Antioch settled into third. Robles began challenging Baca for the lead and took over on the 15th lap before a yellow flag waved. Robles continued to lead the restart, and Baca got a flat tire on Lap 17 as a yellow flag waved. Gomez briefly grabbed the lead on lap 18, but Robles was back in front a lap later. Aidan Ponciano of Oakley settled into third on Lap 21, only to surrender the position to the resurgent Crandall a lap later. Robles set a rapid pace during the final 10 laps and beat Gomez by a straightaway. Crandall settled for third, followed by Baca and Colten Haney of Brentwood.
Joel Hannagan #16 won his third-straight Hardtop feature. Photo by Katrina Kniss

Joel Hannagan of San Jose won the 20 lap Hardtop Main Event. He ducked underneath Ronnie Ruiz of West Sacramento in Turn 4 to complete the opening lap in the lead and never looked back. An inside pass on the front stretch of the third lap gained Eric Seely of Ceres the second position with Brad Coello of Oakley going underneath Ruiz in Turn 4 a lap later for third. Coelho slipped past Sealy for second on the fifth lap, but Hannagan held a straightaway advantage by then. Hannagan put a lap on Sealy on the 17th lap just as Coello pulled to the infield. This meant that Hannagan won by a lap ahead of Sealy. Ruiz settled for third ahead of Don Slaney of Martinez and Joe Shenefield of Modesto.

Tom Davis #75 won his fourth-straight Print Club Mini Stock Main Event. Photo by Katrina Kniss

Tom Davis of Los Molinos won his fourth-straight Print Club Mini Stock Main Event. Kelly Campanile of Oakley took the early lead after a complete restart for a Turn 4 crash involving Davis and Tom Carse of Novato. Carse lost his right front wheel to end his race. Reigning champion Tom Brown of Santa Rosa was an early second but surrendered the spot to an inside front stretch pass by Davis on Lap 2.

Davis passed Campanile in Turn 1 on the third lap to take the lead. From there, Davis started to pull away. Late arrival Dana Gardner of San Bruno made an inside pasa on the front stretch on Lap 6 to take second from Campanile. However, Davis set a rapid pace and beat Gardner by a straightaway at the checkered flag. Campanile settled for third ahead of Brown and Tony Quinonez of Corning.
Championship contender Devan Kammermann #18 won the Delta Dwarf Car Main Event. Photo by Katrina Kniss

Devan Kammermann of Dublin picked up his first 20 lap Delta Dwarf Car Main Event win of the season. He took the lead early on and would never relinquish it. 

David Rosa of Antioch was an early second before surrendering the position to Pete Piantanida of Discovery Bay In Turn 4 on the seventh circuit. Chance Russell of Antioch moved into the third on Lap 8 and slipped underneath Piantanida in Turn 4 on Lap 10 for second. Piantanida spun in Turn 4 for a Lap 15 yellow flag, but he was back in third two laps later. Contact between David Michael Rosa of Antioch and Piantanida in the race for third saw Rosa retire on Lap 18, and Kammermann brought it home to victory ahead of Russell, Piantanida, David Rosa and Joe LeDuc of Tracy. Piantanida and David Rosa were both disqualified for missing post-race tech, elevating LeDuc and David Michael Rosa into third and fourth place finishes, respectively.
Don McLeister #27 won the 600 Micro Sprint Main Event. Photo by Katrina Kniss

Don McLeister of Stockton won the 15 lap 600 Micro Sprint Main Event. The eight lap heat race winner bolted into the lead from the start and led every lap ahead of Devin McLeister of Stockton for the victory. Ryan Dodson of Fremont finished third ahead of Charlie Kight of Antioch.

Racing resumes next Saturday night with the IMCA Modifieds back in action along with the Wingless Spec Sprints, IMCA Stock Cars, Pacific Coast General Engineering Hobby Stocks, BCRA Lightning Sprints and the Figure 8. For further information, go to
Antioch Speedway Race Results 
Pacific Coast General Engineering Hobby Stocks 
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Ken Johns, Aidan Ponciano, Grayson Baca. Trophy Dash (4 laps)-Grayson Baca. B Dash (4 laps)-James Thomson. Main Event (30 laps)-Kenneth Robles, Todd Gomez, Jewell Crandall, Grayson Baca, Colten Haney, James Thomson, Ken Johns, Aidan Ponciano, Jess Paladino, Gavin Griffiths.
Print Club Mini Stocks 
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Kelly Campanile, Tom Davis. Trophy Dash (4 laps)-Tom Davis. Main Event (20 laps)-Tom Davis, Dana Gardner, Kelly Campanile, Tom Brown, Tony Quinones, Don Abitz, Aaron McClosky, David Carson, Tom Carse, Roberto Monroy DNS.
Delta Dwarf Cars 
Heat Winner (8 laps)-Chance Russell. Main Event (20 laps)-Devan Kammermann, Chance Russell, Joe LeDuc, David Michael Rosa, Pete Piantanida DQ, David Rosa DQ. 
Heat Winner (8 laps)-Joel Hannagan. Main Event (20 laps)-Joel Hannagan, Eric Seely, Ronnie Ruiz, Don Slaney, Joe Shenefield, Brad Coello, Ken Clifford. 
600 Micro Sprints 
Heat Winner (8 laps)-Don McLeister. Main Event (15 laps)-Don McLeister, Devin McLeister, Ryan Dodson, Charlie Kight.